MY CHOICES BEHIND “THE WINTER SEA”

Here I am to tell you something about my choice of describing the childhood of Eunau, a friend of mine from Korea I met here in Wollongong. First of all, it was -and it is- a challenge for me: it is difficult, indeed, to describe the childhood of someone without being in his birthplace! But what inspired my story is something she told me the first time we went to the beach:

“There is something in Wollongong that makes me remember my childhood in Geoje Island. Maybe the colour of the sand and the waves”. 

This confession inspired me because there is something in Wollongong that makes me remember my childhood as well. In Italy we use to say something like “The world is like a big village” to mean that wherever you go, you’ll always find something similar to your birthplace, you’ll always find somebody who speaks your language and shares your ideals, feelings, emotions…

The ocean as a picture show, as the portrait of our memories: Eunau was born in a little island in South Korea, Geoje and she is very nostalgic of her life there. Thus, I wanted to tell you her feelings towards this island by images and sounds from Wollongong’s beach.

In my last post I used some lines from a korean poetry as well, because I think that poetry is a good example of the evocative power that the union of images and sounds can originate: “The winter sea” by Kim Nam-Jo.

Rispondi

